Cue the queue check

1-Starred Photos1

I went on a long weekend/short vacation trip this past weekend, and leading up to it I had every intention to create a new garment in time for the trip. I made a muslin, made some tweaks, and then… took an honest look at everything that I needed to do before traveling and realized that sewing would have to wait.

I’m giving myself a pat on the back for listening to that voice instead of slap-dash sewing, which stresses me out and leaves me unsatisfied with the quality, and you know what? I was perfectly happy with the clothes I already had in my closet to pack up and jet off.

But another funny thing happened when I started packing: I realized that I didn’t really have any knitting to bring. Knitting helps me relax, passes time while traveling, and is usually a big part of my time off activities — but it becomes sort of a Goldilocks process. My current project is too close to being finished and I couldn’t block all the pieces on the road, and my next projects are patiently waiting in my stash but not yet swatched.

So I went without anything to knit or sew. Shocking! And still quite relaxing. I read a lot; I watched political debates with my Dad; I went jogging in the sunshine. And I finally slowed down and thought through my project queue!

I’m usually a rather “monogamous” maker — one knitting and one sewing project at a time, please. Otherwise my creative time starts to feel daunting rather than exciting. But a few false sewing starts, and my goldilocks-esque knitting indecision, and it seems a queue check is in order.

IMG_0921

Knitting:

  1. Sawyer sweater for Jenn: I’ve been knitting a Brooklyn Tweed sweater for Jenn for what feels like forever. I know that’s dramatic, and I know I’ve taken many breaks to knit other small gifts and accessories, but I’m tired of dragging the project out (see above, back to monogamy) and so very close to finishing the second sleeve! Then it needs blocking, seaming, and a neckband – but I’m determined!
  2. Handspun mitts: I took a spinning class in January and made some bulky, quirky handspun yarn, then promptly started knitting some mittens to prepare for an impending snowstorm. The snow fell, and has since melted, and the mittens are on hold because I tried to adjust the pattern and they look really, oddly narrow.
  3. Lilian beanie: I test-knit the Lilian Beanie pattern for my insta-friend Ani (@Close_Knit). I love it! I’ve been wearing it lots… but still haven’t woven in the ends, and I want to add a little pom pom before calling it finished.

Sewing:

  1. Tamarack Jacket: I hit a road bump when it came to quilting my hand-dyed fabric and locally-sourced batting. The batting is really lofty, and just wasn’t looking great with my machine quilting skills. So in the depths of winter, when I knew it was too cold to wear a light jacket anyway, I tucked it all away until further notice. Now that spring is on the horizon, I’m itching to wear this jacket and inspired all over again to try some new quilting techniques.
  2. Almada Robe: I look forward to reading Seamwork Magazine every month, but I had a hard time picturing most of the patterns working with my stash or wardrobe. Until Alamada, the kimono-inspired robe from the February issue. I started making it right away, and am piecing it together out of some up-cycled washed silk crepe de chine. It’s slow going, but I know it will be so luxurious to wear.
  3. Long sleeve layers: my winter wardrobe was very much lacking in the long sleeves department, so I made plans for a Rise/Fall Turtleneck and a long-sleeved Lark tee. I made the turtleneck and am slightly embarrassed to admit how much I’ve worn it without actually finishing the sleeves or hem! The Lark tee is heading to the cutting table soon too.
  4. Jumpsuit: this was my plan for my getaway garment — an effortlessly chic, double gauze jumpsuit. As mentioned above, this got tabled due to limited time, and I think I will keep it on the back burner until the weather warms up more in the next few months.

SO, where does that leave me? Well, the knitting list is more straightforward to me, and I’m basically moving along in order. The sewing list is a bit trickier, but I’m starting with the winter tees since they can be finished and worn right away. After that, I’m looking forward to continuing with the robe and Tamarack, perhaps simultaneously. But of course, with the early spring weather around here, I’m day dreaming of warm weather wardrobe planning and new pieces with some of my favorite old (long stashed) fabrics.

Are you “monogamous” with your makes, or do you keep lots of looks in progress?

Published by

Jess

making things & asking questions

6 thoughts on “Cue the queue check”

  1. I thought I was fairly monogomous until I had to pack my sewing room! I had so many bits and pieces started that I shocked myself. I know them all in one place so I can work through the mess…in theory.

    Like

  2. when I the next step of a current project is unpleasant I would be tempted to start a quick and mindless project. Like you I’m guilty of wearing un-hemmed garments for longer than I care to admit.

    Currently I’m avoiding the zipper on a pair of Wyome jeans, because I was almost done with everything when I realized I better unpick my careful topstitching and tweak she back crotch, side seams, and go for a zipper instead of buttons. And all of this is after making two muslins!

    Like

    1. oh wow, how frustrating! And yet, I do think sometimes letting things rest for a while brings clarity and more satisfying end result. But I still haven’t braved jeans-sewing (on my spring list!) so I can understand your hesitance to unpick topstitching. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

