Project planning for fall

10-2016-09-18-14-51-09

Back to my point about project planning: whether or not you actually want to make/use/live with a capsule wardrobe, the free Capsule planner can be a helpful tool to plan wardrobe addition. I’m going with a fall capsule wardrobe, but I think the foundation of taking stock of what I have, identifying what’s working & what’s not, thinking about weather and lifestyle and any needs for the upcoming season allows me to easily identify and prioritize pieces I want to add to my wardrobe, capsuled or not.

From my wardrobe planning process, I have a clear color palette, an idea of my favorite silhouettes, and an inventory of what I have and what gaps exist in my wardrobe. I have a good number of boxy tops that I love, but am pretty low on pants and skirts to pair them with (especially pieces that are in good condition and can be dressed up a bit).

The Capsule planner also offered a nice time to reflect on my goals: moving slowly, keeping my closet pared down, and working with my stash. So now, the part I daydream about the most! What to make? How will the things I make pair with what I already have and love?

Since I generally enjoy making most of my wardrobe, I use the shopping list part of the Un-fancy Capsule planner to think about what projects to prioritize. But, considering my current need for pants and the learning curve to make a pair (which I don’t have time for just yet), I decided to invest in a pair of Clyde pants after many many months of contemplation and budgeting. I also need another pair of shoes, ideally boots, which is a bigger budget item, so I’m trying to keep my project budget lean and finish up a few WIPs.

Roughly in order of priority:

1-fall-capsule

Loose inspirations & interpretations: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

I wouldn’t say this planning method is totally foolproof — I could still end up with clothing that doesn’t quite fit or isn’t durable, or doesn’t ultimately move into regular wardrobe rotation. But I have a natural tendency (ok, borderline obsession) toward planning and I think laying it all out ahead of time is really helpful.

I also know that this fall — really, the rest of 2016 — will be very busy for me, and there’s a chance that I won’t get through even half of the items on my list. Through my summer capsule wardrobe experience, I learned that making one full garment per month is a reasonable pace, so with my fall planning I’m trying not to set my expectations too high, and by prioritizing, I can focus on each item in due course. Still, if I don’t get to making or finishing the items on my list, I know that I have plenty to wear and lots of great options in my fall capsule.

This is my current practice of balancing excitement, inspiration, and desire, with gratitude, responsibility, and time management. Do you have a fall list? I love learning about how others plan (or don’t!) their projects, and welcome your thoughts in the comments!

Published by

Jess

making things & asking questions

8 thoughts on “Project planning for fall”

  1. I love love love planning! I’m nowhere near as restrained as you I’m afraid, but I get immense pleasure looking at my fabric and pattern stash on Evernote and dreaming! For what it’s worth making trousers isn’t hard, it’s the fitting! 😉

    Like

    1. Oh, great idea to use Evernote! Do you keep a library there, of sorts? I use Evernote a lot for work and love it, but mostly go from my crowded little Moleskin notebook to drafting a blog… Interesting! Thanks for the note on pants, I know I’ll get there someday 🙂

      Like

      1. Yes, I have all my fabric listed according to weight, fibre type, where I got it and approx how much and future plans. And I have most of my patterns catalogued according to garment type, and whether for a knit or woven with a pic of the line art and sometimes the fabric requirement…..then I can make notes on fitting adjustments etc as I don’t have time to blog every garment I make. And then I can have it across my phone or iPad so if I’m out and about I can see how much fabric or notions I need. So yeah, slightly obsessed! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Genius!!! I could see myself getting WAY into this organizational idea.. note to self: set aside time this winter for an evernote overhaul 🙂

        Like

  2. I love reading wardrobe-planning posts! Thankfully at this point I have almost enough to wear so I don’t plan too much. I’m not worried about fall at all, but I know I don’t have enough for winter. Last month I made the Cascade duffle coat which will fill a huge gap in my winter wardrobe. I think if I make 2 tight tshirts to wear as base layers I’ll be good for the winter. I hate form fitting clothes but at near 0c degrees I find its the only way to keep warm.
    Regarding pants – you wrote you have a few options that fit well. Maybe you can copy them? It doesn’t take long to copy a pair of pants and it saves you the time it takes to fit a pattern.

    Like

    1. I’m impressed you’re thinking ahead to winter! Last year I learned that baselayers are really the key to staying cozy, so that sounds like a good plan. Good point on pants — I want my next pair of jeans to have a higher waist than my current pairs, but I can definitely use the existing ones for the hip & leg fit!

      Like

  3. I love the choices you have made thus far. And do not be intimidated by the pants, you can totally do it!

    I share the frustration though, of making something and worrying it will not be durable. This is part of my complaint with RTW, so it pains me when my own items don’t last as long as I think they should.

    Like

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I think with pants I’m particularly concerned about durability – making sure I have enough time to do proper seam finishing and fitting. Some day soon I hope!

      Like

Leave a Reply

